Alyawarr Ingkerr-wenh

A brief history

Dreamtine - 1965 | 1966 - present

1971Milirrpum v Nabalco: proposed concept of native title in Australia is not accepted in the NT Supreme Court; SA Letters Patent found not to apply at the time the Northern Territory was annexed to South Australia;
1974Woodward Commission Report into Aboriginal Land Rights;
1976Aboriginal Land Rights (Northern Territory) Act (Cth) 1976;
1978Northern Territory self-government;
1980Utopia land claim under the ALRA is successful;
1989Creation of ATSIC;
1992Mabo v Queensland (No. 2);
Hatches Creek land transfer;
Wakaya land transfer;
1993Native Title Act (Cth) 1993;
2003Irretety (Community Living Area) Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA);
2005Alyawarr Ingkerr-wenh governance arrangements defined: click here to view the final report of the anthropologist consultant;
2006Dismantling of ATSIC;
The ALRA was significantly amended to, amongst other things, facilitate 99-year leases of Aboriginal townships in the Northern Territory;
2007Northern Territory Emergency Response;
Aboriginal Benefits Account (a half-billion dollar mining royalty trust account) placed under Ministerial control;
Ampilatwatja walk-off in protest to the Northern Territory Emergency Response;
2008Creation of 'Super Shires': including the Barkly Shire; the assets of Aboriginal community-controlled councils were transferred to these shires;
Commencement of NT Oil Ltd: EP 127 and 128 Indigenous Land Use Agreement (ILUA);
Kwarl-kwarl (Devils Marbles) handed back to traditional owners;
2010Alpurrurulam Indigenous Land Use Agreement (expires in 2030);
2011Ooratippra Native Title Consent Determination;
Irretety Community Living Area Indigenous Land Use Agreement;
2014Sandover Native Title rights recognised;